Stressed Out Skin

I didn’t plan on writing another article tonight, but this caught my eye. I was reading some of the news on yahoo, and an article on the affect of stress on skin was intriguing.

As everyone understands stress plays hard, and when it does it brings the A-game. Stress can do multiple things to your body. Increased weight, heart issues, loss of hair and many more. Whenever stress takes it’s toll your body’s cortisol level sky rockets. In exchange your blood sugar is in the passenger seat for a one way ticket to the milky way. With those combined sugar molecules eat away at the skin’s collagen and elastin. Among that Acne can take it’s place. Adrenaline spikes can make the skin age quicker as well.

Ladies – tired of those dark circles beneath the eyes? Well epinephrine (adrenaline) also rises in stressful situations which in turn is decreased blood flow to the skin. Anything else we should know? Yup! Hormonal changes act against the skin barrier. Skin barrier containing fatty acids that protect debree and what not decreases the amount of moisture the skin holds. No moisture equals dry skin, redness, and inflammation.

Well know that were armed with the damages – What can we do to protect the skin?

  • Sleeping for 6-8 hours
  • Exercising regularly
  • Eating a balanced diet consisting of low sugar, protein, and Omega-3 fatty acids.
  • Using medicine with Ingredients: chamomile, feverfew, sulfur and salicylic acid
  • Sunscreen spf 15+
6 Responses to Stressed Out Skin

  1. alexrector says:

    Sure is.

  2. WarriorBlog says:

    I don’t believe in using any kind of man made medicine which are dangerous to cure anything. I think people should just eat organic food and exercise frequently (which is easier said than done).

    I do not like chemical and processed foods at all! There are sooo many products that contain harmful chemicals nowadays.

    This is just my opinion from reading a lot of health store from sites like mercola.com.

    I listen to relaxation and uplifting music a lot to stay happy and be healthy 🙂

  3. alexrector says:

    I wish I could have the patience, and determination as you do. I’m slowly taking steps to changing my health. I’d say the one thing that I’ve really improved on is the foods that I eat, and weight training. The music sounds good, I’m going to have to try that.

  4. I agree with warriorblog. Everything can be combatted naturally. And exercise, decent sleep, and healthy eating is easy if you think about it.

  5. alexrector says:

    I love the quote – You can do anything if you set your mind to it. If your in the right mindset accompanied with people that want to achieve the same goals, there’s no reason not accomplish the task.

Leave a Reply

